NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » 4-wire stepper motor and ADC speed control

December 04, 2011
by rkohl44

First things first: thanks to all the prolific and incredibly helpful members here. Usually I'm able to search and find what I'm doing wrong through others' similar problems. This time I'm at a loss and need help. I'm not an engineer, but a tinkering hobbyist with rudimentary (at best) skills in the programming and electrical worlds.

The project: stepper motor control with variable speed control. I salvaged a 4-wire stepper motor out of a dead printer and have successfully gotten it to run clockwise and counterclockwise through an L293 H-bridge. At first, I hard coded a delay between steps like this:

uint8_t delay_CW;
    delay_CW = 3;

// step 1       
    PORTB |= (1<<PB4);  // step 1 on        
    delay_ms(delay_CW);
    PORTB &= ~(1<<PB4); // step 1 off

A delay of 3 ms resulted in fast, smooth rotation, over 80 RPM. A delay of 2 ms resulted in 135 RPM. A delay of 1 ms was too fast and the motor didn't spin at all.

Of course, I want to vary the speed dynamically. I used the temp sensor code to set a delay from reading the potentiometer (and writing the speed to the LCD). This works fine if the speed is set BEFORE the stepping loop begins. The problem comes in when I put the call to getspeed() INSIDE the stepping loop. It takes too much time to do the adc_read() and the motor skips and jitters.

So the question is: how do I check for a change in the potentiometer while keeping the motor control loop flowing? Can I do this using the adc, or is this always going to take too much time (therefore causing step skips). I suppose I could hard code several delay values and use a simple pushbutton (or the dipswitch) to set speeds.