NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » Source Codes For Learning Purposes Wanted

August 05, 2009
by Nerdful_com

I am a newbie to microcontrollers, but looked around at many AVR programming kits before I went with a NerdKit.

I am hoping to find source codes to other AVR firmwares (like Audrino clones) that will work with a NerdKit or be ported/hacked to work?

I learn new languages best with many source code sample projects that perform simple tasks. I have found about a dozen actual source codes on Nerdkits.com forums and videos (c files) that I can get to work from my brand new NerdKit, but I would like to have even more codes to learn from. There should be tons of codes as this technology has been around for a bit...

I know that each AVR system has different bootloader/firmware, which I assume are like mini operating systems. I am hoping that it is as simple as say getting codes from an Audrino developer and changing some command names/calls. I hope that there is a hack for using Audrino clone codes as there seems to be hundreds of snippets online to give me hints to learn from.

I do know that I can just burn a clone bootlaoder to any new atmega chip, but I want to stick with NerdKit as I can understand what's going on with the actual components I add (I do not want a board all soldered together, I want hands on, like LEGO for geeks).

www.nerdful.com

August 05, 2009
by Nerdful_com

Ok, I notice that the NerdKit atmel chip has firmware with directories like

include <avr/io.h>

include <avr/interrupt.h>

include <avr/sleep.h>

include <avr/signal.h>

include "../libnerdkits/delay.h"

include "../libnerdkits/lcd.h"

include "../libnerdkits/uart.h"