NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Everything Else » How to get a more accurate temperature

October 04, 2011
by glendon

Hi,

I got the temperature sensor project working but it gives 29.5 degree celsius. I feels it's slightly too high for my room (esp. when it just rained and I have my windows opened). The PDF guide says that to get a more accurate reading, we need to calibrate the reference voltage (which is a constant +5V for the project). Can someone suggest some simple calibration ways I can try out to achieve a more accurate reading?

By the way, I have a computer science degree (so programming is second nature to me), but all my understanding of electronics comes solely from my experimenting with the NerdKits. Hence, kindly keep your suggestions/explanations simple for a layman like me.

Thanks in advance.

October 05, 2011
by Ralphxyz

Hi glendon, first thing the "reference voltage" is most likely not 5 volts.

You need to test your power supply to find the true reference voltage.

The Nerdkit furnished tempsensor actually come in three versions with the more accurate sensor costing a lot more, relatively speaking.

You can go to a electronics supplier to get a more accurate sensor.

There are discussions here in the forum where people got more accuracy out of the supplied tempsensor.

Also since you are comfortable with the programing you could also program in a curve once you have established how far off the accuracy is. You would need a reference thermometer to do the programing calibration.

Ralph

October 05, 2011
by bretm