NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » LED Marquee alternative

June 30, 2009
by mcai8sh4

Hello people...

I've seen a few posts regarding the led marquee, mainly about some problems with the python listener.

So here's a simple alternative.

I've already posted two other python scripts - one displays scrolling text of piped data to the script, and the other displays static text piped to it - but alas, they've been wrote with Linux in mind.

Since I don't have windows on this machine, I can't vouch for the usefulness of the following for you Windows people, but it's worth a try.

I've been needing an excuse (for a year or so) to try my hand at perl.. this was the perfect excuse.

I started learning pearl at ~5:30 today, it's now 11:50, so I'm proud of my achievement.

Disclaimer : This is a work in progress - I dont know what I'm doing, but maybe someone with brains could elaborate/improve... So here's the script :

use strict;
use warnings;
use Device::SerialPort;
my $arg_string=join(' ',@ARGV);
my $ob = Device::SerialPort ->new ("/dev/ttyUSB0") || die "oops, cannot open port";
$ob->baudrate(115200);
$ob->parity("none");
$ob->databits(8);
$ob->stopbits(1);
$ob->write_settings;
$ob->write("a\n");
$ob->write("z\n");
$ob->write("$arg_string\n");
sleep 5;
$ob->write("z");
$ob->write("\n");

And thats it - there's bugs, but it seems to work.

USEAGE : assuming the files named led-static.pl

perl led-static.pl HELLO

This will show 'HELLO' on the display for 5 seconds then should clear the display.

It doesn't always work, sometimes the display isn't cleared and when you first turn on the nerdkit, you'll have to run the script twice for it to work (like I say I'm new to this).