NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » HELP, With getting initial load onto chip!

March 23, 2011
by higginson24

Hi I am new to electronics so please be nice.I have wired to the stage where Congratulations hardware is ok message is on screen,when i am connect via usb and flip to programming mode the screen goes all black, I have installed the driver,changed the comm port in the make file,Now when i press dir in the command line i get nothing,Please what do i do from here i have tried everything i know!

March 23, 2011
by higginson24

Sorry to add to what i have said, In the programmers notepad i have the initialloadc there,but what do i do with it when i have it in the notepad?,It says on page 43 when you have seen the code, does that mean in the notepad,then it says open up command line and navigate to the folder with the code in it, what do i press because pressing dir in command line,doesnot bring up the folder or any referance to the avrdude: avr device initialised,what do i do from this stage.

March 23, 2011
by Ralphxyz

Hi higginson24 welcome, promise we will not bite (sometimes some of us get a bit snide but we do not do much harm).

First thing slow down.

It looks like you are asking 5 different things.

I think if you slow down and work it through you will answer some of your question yourself.

Lets start from scratch. Does the Congratulations (initialload) still work?

We need to make sure you still have a working device. So answer that Yes/No then we can move on.

What OS are you using? I asume Windows but what version?

You can load the program using Programmers Notepad without using the command line.

Using the command line "dir" only gives you the directory listings of your current folder (directory).