NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Everything Else » Which Soldering Station?

March 20, 2011
by dgikuljot

Hey guys, I have been working with electronics for a few years now, but when it came to soldering i used a cheap pen type soldering iron. Now i want to buy a soldering station, but dont know much about them. Im looking for somehting that is good quality and will last a while, something that can easily handle smd and through hole components and if possible be under a 100 dollars. What stations do you guys recommend.

March 22, 2011
by missle3944

Hi dgikuljot,

I reccomend a soldering station that is tempurature controlled such as a weller. I think they run around $90 and they stay at constant temperature. The one that I use, thats my dad's, is a Weller soldering station similar to this one here. this one also has temp control and it has some good reviews -missle3944

March 23, 2011
by Rick_S

I agree with missle3944, in that you definitely want to get a quality temperature controlled soldering station. I have a Weller WD1001 85W station and it is great. I know it's a bit above the price range you stated. Weller does make lower end temp controlled models though. I'd recommend a reputable brand like Weller with temperature control and the largest wattage iron you can afford. The reason for the higher wattage is so you have the power needed to quickly heat ground planes without pulling all the heat from the iron. The temperature control will allow you to maintain the proper heat for the job... a little hotter for lead free stuff or a little cooler if desired for leaded solders or sensitive devices.

The iron missle recommended also comes in a digital readout flavor for a little more money. I like the temp readout over a dial, but that is my preference.

Rick

March 23, 2011
by Ralphxyz