NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Sensors, Actuators, and Robotics » Radio Shack Motion sensor - how do I connect this to the 168?

March 09, 2011
by Bigforky

Fellow Nerds, I’ll preface that I am a complete rookie with microcontrollers, electronics and C programming.

I have a project where I am making a controller to manage two sets of lights activated by a motion sensor.

The lights themselves are 120v LED walk-don’t walk semaphores found from a local surplus shop, and I am using a solid state relay to make them mimic what happens at a cross walk. The blinky part I have figured out including long ‘on’ and the blinking of both lights.

Where I am stuck is the trigger from the motion sensor.

I looked at the code in the NK manual from page 63 about digital I/O : DDRC &= ~(1<<PC3); // set PC3 as input while(1) { if(PINC & (1<<PC3)) { // do something if PC3 is high } else { // do something else if PC3 is low } }

I read this that PC3 (pin26) if active high meaning has voltage, would trigger the event in the brackets. The motion sensor (Radio shack acquired) has three leads +,-, signal. I have connected the power and measure 3.8v with motion and 0v without. When I tested my program, I was not able to get pin 26 to fire off the rest of the script…

Am I off thinking 3.8v is enough? Was it way too much and I fried the chip? Am I way off on my logic understanding of PC3?

Any advice is greatly appreciated…

March 09, 2011
by bretm

It doesn't really "trigger" the code, it runs it over and over again each time the main loop executes, as long as PC3 is high. So if you only want to trigger something when it transitions from low to high you need to keep track of whether it was low or high the previous time through the loop, and then only do the "trigger" action when it changes.