NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Sensors, Actuators, and Robotics » Cheaper Alternative Servos?

February 02, 2011
by missle3944

Hi, I am very interested in controlling a servo with my nerdkits MCU, but the servo that you guys recommend costs $15. I'm just a High School student that cant afford a micro servo for almost $20 I found some much cheaper alternatives to the servo on hobbyking.com that look to be just as good. I had this one in mind but I don't know if it meets up the specs of the MCU. Also, feel free to make any suggestions.

Sincerely, Missle3944

February 02, 2011
by missle3944

Sorry, I forgot to put a period (.) in between 20 and I. So please dont get confused if it sounds like I think it is 20 dollars

-missle3944

February 02, 2011
by Rick_S

That servo would work fine, other than its extreme small size. It's only about 1" x 3/4" x 5/16". If tiny is what you need, it will work fine.

Rick

February 02, 2011
by missle3944

Hi Rick, Thanks for the quick reply. Anyway I did not realize it was that small. I guess I don't need anything too big. I'll probably purchase it then.

-missle3944

February 17, 2011
by devinsbusiness

I have purchased LiPo batteries from hobbyking.com. What a bargain! I will warn you though. The stuff you purchase from them is coming directly from China to you, so the shipping can be expensive ($40 worth of batteries cost $20 to ship) and it will take a while to get what you order. I think my batteries took around 3 weeks to get to me. That aside, they have decent stuff for very low prices.

Good Luck,

Devin

February 18, 2011
by missle3944