NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Begining

January 09, 2011
by Jalex

Hi Can anyone point me in the right direction? I have lots of experience in electronics and programming. OK I am ready to start now. I think I will start with the Morse Code Decoder. I don't want to take chances burning out parts. I am used to working with schematics or at least pin-outs. While videos are a lot of help I still would like to know what I am connecting to what and why. Shall I just get the data sheet for the controller and go from there or is there more detailed info here in the site.

January 09, 2011
by Rick_S

I know they have schematics for the builds in the NK guide, however they do not have them for a lot of (especially older) projects and tutorials. In most cases the build is VERY similar to the basic build. For instance, if you built the kit to the point of getting to the initial welcome message on the LCD, you would be halfway there, then add the balance of the circutry in the making music with a microcontroller project and you should be ready to play.

Schematics have been brought up a few times on the forum and that was what led to them being created for the guide projects. I really doubt that the older projects will ever see them but they aren't too hard to figure out for the most part.

As for the Datasheet, it will become a good friend as you take your travels throught the world of the microcontroller. There is a massive amount of info there that can at times be hard to digest. However, if you do get stumped, just pop in here with a question and someone will almost always come in with an answer.

Rick

January 09, 2011
by Jalex