NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » A BCD counter, some questions

January 06, 2011
by SpaceGhost

Okay, this is what I would like to put together -

I need a count up / count down program that uses two inputs (one to count up, the other to count down), that counts 0 - 15, and displays the count number on the LCD screen as its decimal value.

Four output pins would at the same time provide negative voltages to four LEDs, with the four LED's having common anode connections to the + rail, to provide a BCD output display.

I have some experience in programmable logic controller (PLC) programming. With a PLC it is quite easy to code and implement such a program by using a count up counter paired with a count down counter on each input (UP button and DOWN button) and a "convert to BCD" function.

Is there a similar "convert to BCD" command in C language that can be used with the ATMEGA 168 to turn on the four LEDs by sinking a current to four outputs of the MCU in relationship to the decimal value that would be displayed by the LCD?

In essence, I want to make a 0-15 "BCD switch" that displays the BCD output value in decimal on the LCD, while providing a "negative" output(s) to light the LEDs... No LEDs lit for 0 (default position on power up) LED 1 lit for a count of one, LED 2 lit for a count of 2, LEDs 1 and 2 lit for a count of 3, etc. Of course, I am looking for the simplest programming method for doing this.

Any and all suggestions welcomed and appreciated. Thanks!

Dave

January 08, 2011
by SpaceGhost

Okay, I've made an attempt to code the 0 - 15 up/down counter portion of the program. Naturally, it doesn't work! This is what I have put together:

#define F_CPU 14745600

#include <stdio.h>

#include <avr/io.h>
#include <avr/interrupt.h>
#include <avr/pgmspace.h>