NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » Adding EEPROM

January 05, 2011
by jgreen6800

I would like to interface my MCU with some sort of non-volatile memory to record values from my ADC. Does anyone have any experience interfacing the MCU with EEPROM or other non-volatile memory? I have never done anything like this before. Is there any good reference material out there for a newbie? Thanks for your input.

Jim

January 06, 2011
by Rick_S

I was playing around with an external 24C128N EEPROM when I was messing around with the WII Nunchuck control. This is an 128K I2C EEPROM. I believe this is working code... but I haven't used it in a while and was working on something else. It may have even been part of the sample code in the library download... so I take no credit for it other than the NK additions :). I just used this to make sure the I2C routines were working. This code will also require the I2C library published by Peter Fleury. You can download it from his website HERE. This should work with most I2C EEPROMS with little change other than maybe addressing.

Hope this helps,

Rick

#include <avr/io.h>
#include <inttypes.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <avr/interrupt.h>
#include <avr/pgmspace.h>
#include "i2cmaster.h"
#include "../libnerdkits/delay.h"
#include "../libnerdkits/lcd.h"

#define MEM_ADR 0xA0

// Write to external eeprom 1 byte at a time

uint8_t Exep_Write(uint16_t Mem_Loc, int8_t Data)
  {
    uint8_t ret = i2c_start(MEM_ADR+I2C_WRITE);
        if ( ret ) {
        /* failed to issue start condition, possibly no device found */
        i2c_stop();
        PORTB=0xff;                            // activate all 8 LED to show error */
        return 0;
    }else {
        delay_us(500);   // pause a moment

/* issuing start condition ok, device accessible */