NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Sensors, Actuators, and Robotics » Making a pH Sensor

December 14, 2010
by kemil

Hi Guys,

Im in the process of trying to design a pH sensor, however there are a few things so far which are confusing me.

Essentially i intend to buy a pH probe such as the "American Marine Pinpoint pH Probe", attach it to an amplifier such as the AD602 (as seen in the weight sensor project) which is in turn connected to one of the ADC pins on the MCU.

In theory i think this should work (If im missing something let me know). But im a stuck on the first hurdle...

Every pH probe is attached to a BNC connector, as i am new to electronics, i have no idea how i am meant to attach the probes wiring to the AD620. Am i supposed to cut of the connector and work with the actual wire? What will if find if i do this. Will it have 4 wires S+,S-,E+ and E- again like the weight sensor project... I dont just want to start cutting probe wiring until i know what im dealing with, these things are $50 a piece.

I think once this problem is solved the rest should hopefully fall into place.

Thanks

Kemil

December 14, 2010
by Ralphxyz

That doesn't look like a BNC connector It looks like a power plug with two contacts (normally center + outer -) (2 wire plug).

Regardless "IF" the probe is just two wires use a multimeter to measure continuity of the probe when it it in your calibration fluids.

What do you get?

Use the multimeter (voltmeter) to measure the monitor voltage at the socket.

What do you get?

IF the monitor is just measuring resistance and you know the voltage you "should" be able to easily connect to your Op-Amp/Nerdkit.

You could just use the tempsensor project code.