NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » WeighScale Project - Python Code

November 03, 2010
by bdubb427

Hi, I have no experience with using python, so I am just trying to run the source code given for the weighscale project. After opening the pc-weighscale.py file in Python ver 2.6, I am getting an error that says "ImportError: No module named serial" (line 1) I'm assuming this is a problem with the header files. Can someone please help so I can get the source code running?

alt image text

November 03, 2010
by bdubb427

I don't understand what to do about the list of modules im supposed to import. They aren't included so am I supposed to write them myself? I don't know where to start or what to do...

alt image text

November 03, 2010
by hevans
(NerdKits Staff)

HI bdubb427,

PySerial is a module that is not part of the core python modules, so it must be installed separately. Just grab the right version from the PySerial Website, install it and you should be good to go.

Let us know if you run into any problems.

Humberto

November 04, 2010
by bdubb427

Hey Humberto, Thanks for the help. I seemed to follow the steps on the Pyserial Website, and using the pyserial-2.5.win32.exe file, it seemed to install without any problems. I then again went back python, uploaded the same source code and tried running the module again, but this time it's giving me an error with the "import wx" module.

If I comment out that module, I get an error with the "import wx.lib.plot as plot" command.

If I comment out that module, I get an error with the "s=serial.Serial" command, and several other errors.

Can you please recommend to me where I can download other modules for this source code? And anything else I might need to download and install seperately to get this source code running. Thanks alot!