NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Tech-O-Meter

October 19, 2010
by Earnhardt

Hi ALL,

I’m a newbie to the microcontroller and this site; I just purchased & got the NerdKits and hope you Gals & Guys could help. I am looking for a fast and easy way use my nerdKit to get RPM information from a rotating motor shaft and then display it on GLCD. I was thinking of using a Hall Effect Sensor. Since I am new at this and in the need to get it done quickly anyone have simple Source Code and parts for the circuit design I could use. Once I get this RPM information to display on the GLCD I could work on changing and trying other things later.

October 19, 2010
by Ralphxyz

Search the Nerdkit forum for RPM, this has been discussed a lot.

Ralph

October 19, 2010
by hevans
(NerdKits Staff)

Hi Earnhardt,

One of my favourite customer projects of all time is the Hamometer described in this forum post. He did pretty much what you are describing, used a hall effect sensor to measure RPMs. Depending on how fast your motor is spinning this might not work though.

Humberto

October 21, 2010
by esoderberg

Earnhardt,